7-County Tri-State Region

7-County Tri-State Region

The MOKAN 7-county, tri-state region includes the counties of Barton, Jasper, Newton and McDonald in Southwest Missouri, Cherokee and Crawford counties in Southeast Kansas, and Ottawa county in Northeast Oklahoma.

The total regional population is 305,274. The average wage is $51,500. As of 2021, the population increased by 0.7% since 2016, growing by 2,163. Population is expected to increase by 1.8% between 2021 and 2026, adding 5,639.

Due to lower costs-of-living and doing business here, this region has a high population of veterans and retirees, and a growing racial diversity and population of millennials.

7-county MOKAN Regional Labor Force Breakdown
Top Growing Industries in the 7-county MOKAN Region

Download Brochures

Our State Partners


The Region In Focus

view all articles

Request for Public Input: Industrial Site Development Grant Program Draft Guidelines and Survey Now Available

The Department of Economic Development (DED) is requesting public feedback on its proposed Industrial Site Development Grant Program, funded via the State of Missouri’s share of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA).


RFP for Downtown Joplin Library now open!

The City of Joplin is soliciting proposals for the redevelopment or repurposing of the former Joplin Public Library located at 302 S Main St. Joplin, MO 64801.


MOKAN Region Featured in International Magazine

The MOKAN Region featured in an international site selector magazine for Spring 2022 Issue


We Have Answers

and the Business Incentives to back them up.

Contact Our Staff!